Music and dance

Sometimes it’s nice how watching dance lets me hear new songs that I’d never have heard otherwise. I don’t sit browse or raid the music shelves of libraries and plunge myself into their sounds. I am not a classical music / any music aficionado. I like some classical music (offhand, some of the grand things from Tchaikovsky – I wouldn’t know if I know enough to say I like all of it). Some stuff sounds like how I feel when I’ve had a lot of caffeine (the opening of Dvorak’s New World Symphony, though I didn’t understand it at the time when I heard a bit of it – I only knew that this was the great steampunk feeling inside me at moments – it made me feel like I was soaring in a metal hot-air balloon with a steampunk typewriter that ran on metal ribbons and fountain-pen ink – mildly manic).

What was the other thing I was listening to that time that made me feel like I was watching a movie about a person with a pistol – oh, Rachmaninov’s Symphonic Dances.

Anyway, sometimes, youtube helps me find the nice music from the dances I watch. Thinking of Blue Snow tonight – the two parts, one for the end (Salento) and the Sirtaki A Helsinki for the wonderful portion with Nakahama Akira and Etienne Ferrere marching through the desolate desert, followed by (at around 1:55 in the song) the Chua Bi Ru and Tanaka Nanase in an awesome lively dance that gets emotional at points (paired by Huo Liang and Yorozu Kensuke partway through).

Salento:

Sirtaki A Helsinki:

Thank you, youtube.

**
Separately! since we’re on dance as well – hurray for Ruth Austin and Peter Allen, who’ve been promoted from Apprentice to Artist in SDT. Looking forward to seeing more of them.

One of the little audience members was saying before Opus 25, “Thirty-[odd] of SDT! That means there are 2 apprentices in this! Which ones are they?!” as she peered and flipped through the booklet, while her mum sighed and listened patiently…

As always, interviews with the Artists are here:

http://www.singaporedancetheatre.com/thecompany/inthewings/index.php

And a new section on Remembering Our Days – interviews with important figures in Singapore’s dance history (and present):

http://www.singaporedancetheatre.com/thecompany/remembering/index.php

Leave a Reply

